Home

About UMRBA

River Facts

Meetings

Publications

    Commercial Navigation            Water Quality

 Ecosystem Restoration

     Hazardous Spills

M-35 Marine Highway Route

Governance Architecture

 

 

Administrators

The Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri and Wisconsin transportation departments have primary responsibility for implementing activities under the M-35 Marine Highway Route.  As such, they provide the primary leadership and decision making related to M-35 implementation and engage directly with stakeholders who have an interest in Upper Mississippi River commercial navigation.

 

Nathan Bishop

Illinois Department of Transportation

217-524-1549

nathan.bishop@illinois.gov

 

Craig Markley

Iowa Department of Transportation

515-239-1027

craig.markley@dot.iowa.gov

 

Patrick Phenow

Minnesota Department of Transportation

651-366-3672

patrick.phenow@state.mn.us

Bryan Ross

Missouri Department of Transportation

573-826-4045

bryan.ross@modot.mo.gov

 

Sheri Walz

Wisconsin Department of Transportation

608-267-9319

sharia.walz@dot.wi.gov

 

 

 

Policy Group

The policy group is an interstate, inter-agency group consisting of representatives from the states' departments of transportation, agriculture, natural resources, and economic development.  This group will serve as a forum for information exchange, issue deliberation, and seeking consensus among the states.

 

Harold Hommes

Iowa Dept. of Agriculture and Land Stewardship

515-242-6237

harold.hommes@iowaagriculture.gov

 

Sherry Timmins

Iowa Economic Development Authority

515-725-3193

sherry.timmins@iowa.gov

 

Doug Hoelscher

Iowa Governors’ Office

202-624-5479

doug.hoelscher@iowa.gov

 

Brad Redlin

Minnesota Department of Agriculture

651-201-6489

brad.redlin@state.mn.us

 

 

 

 

Chris Klenklen

Missouri Department of Agriculture

573-751-5514

chris.klenklen@mda.mo.gov

 

Janet Sternburg

Missouri Department of Conservation

573-522-4115, ext. 3372

janet.sternburg@mdc.mo.gov

 

Bryan Hopkins

Missouri Department of Natural Resources

573-526-1966

bryan.hopkins@dnr.mo.gov

 

Robert Stout

Missouri Department of Natural Resources

573-751-7402

robert.stout@dnr.mo.gov

 

Sarah Nussbaum

Missouri Department of Economic Development

573-526-8216

sarah.nussbaum@ded.mo.gov

 

Kathy Heady

Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation

608-210-6841

kathy.heady@wedc.org

 

Advisory Committee

The advisory committee consists of representatives from various stakeholder groups, including industry sectors, federal agencies, local governments, regional planning agencies, labor groups, academia, and environmental and flood control interests.  The representatives will serve in an advisory capacity, by identifying M-35 priorities and contributing to the policy group's discussions.

 

Industry Representatives

 

Bruce Abbe

Midwest Shippers Association, Intermodal Shipping

 

Aimee Andres

Inland Rivers Ports and Terminals Association

 

Russ Eichman

Upper Mississippi Waterways Association

 

Marty Hettel

IWUB Chair, American Commercial Barge Lines

 

Tom Horgan

American Waterways Operators

 

Dan Mecklenborg

Ingram, IWUB Member - Lower Mississippi

 

Lee Nelson

Upper River Services

 

(TBD) Scott Ramshaw

Plumbers and Pipefitters UA Local 562

 

Lance Rase

CGB Enterprises, IWUB Member – Upper Mississippi

 

Paul Rohde

Waterways Council

 

Dale Roth

Carpenters’ Union

 

Max Starbuck

National Corn Growers Association

 

Mike Steenhoeck

Soy Transportation Coalition

 

Academia

 

Ernie Perry

Mid-America Freight Coalition

 

Brett Reinert

Lewis and Clark Colleges

MPOs, Cities

 

Denise Bulat

Bi-State Regional Planning Commission, Quad Cities

 

Lisa McCarthy

Tri-County Economic Development Alliance, NW Illinois

 

Christopher Michael

East-West Gateway Council of Governments, St. Louis

 

Mike Norris

Southeast Iowa Regional Planning Council, Burlington

 

Marcel Wagner

Great River Economic Development Foundation, Quincy

 

 

Representatives of Other River Purposes

 

Gretchen Benjamin

The Nature Conservancy

 

Mike Klingner

Upper Mississippi, Illinois, and Missouri Illinois River Assoc.

 

Federal Agencies

 

Sandra Schiess

Federal Emergency Management Agency, Region 7

 

Fred Jones

Maritime Administration

 

Bill Paape

Maritime Administration

 

Don Balch

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

 

Bruce Blanton

U.S. Department of Agriculture

  

Ken Westlake

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

 

Todd Epperson

U.S. Coast Guard

 

Tim Yager

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

 

Mark Gaikowski

U.S. Geological Survey

 

UMRBA Staff Contacts

Dru Buntin

651-224-2880

dbuntin@umrba.org

Kirsten Mickelsen

651-224-2880

kmickelsen@umrba.org