Water Quality Executive Committee

The purpose of the Water Quality Executive Committee (WQEC) is to facilitate collaborative decision-making, cooperative action, and information sharing among the five States of the Upper Mississippi River Basin (Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, and Wisconsin) with regard to water quality issues on the Upper Mississippi River, and to provide a policy link between collective actions and individual actions by the States.

Each agency with representation on the WQEC participates under the auspices of its own authorities governing interagency coordination and water pollution control. Participation does not restrict any individual agency or State’s authority to issue permits, manage programs, set water quality standards, operate projects, or fulfill other individual agency mandates. The views expressed and actions taken by individual agency representatives and by the WQEC are not binding on any agency, unless the member agencies explicitly enter into a binding agreement.

Members

Member Contact info
Chair Chris Wieberg
Water Protection Program Director
Missouri Department of Natural Resources
573-522-9912
chris.wieberg@dnr.mo.gov
Timothy Elkins
Chief, Standards Section
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
312-886-0263
elkins.timothy@epa.gov
Jim Fischer
Mississippi River Monitoring Team Leader
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
608-785-9004
jamesr.fischer@wisconsin.gov
Gregg Good
Surface Water Section Manager
Illinois Environmental Protection Agency
217-782-3362
gregg.good@illinois.gov
Katrina Kessler
Assistant Commissioner
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
651-757-2303
katrina.kessler@state.mn.us
Adam Schnieders
Water Quality Coordinator
Iowa Department of Natural Resources
515-725-8403
adam.schnieders@dnr.iowa.gov
Greg Searle
Water Resources Field Operations Director
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
608-274-3304
greg.searle@wisconsin.gov
Dr. Amy Shields
Branch Chief, Standards and Water Quality Branch
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
913-551-7396
shields.amy@epa.gov

Documents